Launch · AI Assistants
Claude Sonnet 5.5: what's new, what it costs and how it compares with Opus 5.5
Claude Sonnet 5.5 keeps Sonnet 5's $2 and $10 price, runs over 30% faster and costs up to 30% less per task. See benchmarks, specs and what developers must change.
The short answer
Claude Sonnet 5.5, released on September 28, 2026, is the second model in Anthropic's Claude 5.5 family. It keeps Sonnet 5's price of $2 input and $10 output per million tokens, generates output more than 30% faster and costs up to 30% less per task. It scores 70.6% on Terminal-Bench 4.0 against Sonnet 5's 10.3%, and Haiku 5.5 is still to come.
Claude Sonnet 5.5 is Anthropic’s newest Sonnet model, released on September 28, 2026, six days after Claude Opus 5.5. Anthropic calls it “a clear upgrade over Claude Sonnet 5” that runs more than 30% faster and costs up to 30% less for most work. This report uses Anthropic’s announcement, its model documentation and its release notes, and the benchmark figures are Anthropic’s own.
Claude Sonnet 5.5 at a glance
| Detail | Claude Sonnet 5.5 |
|---|---|
| Released | September 28, 2026 |
| API price | $2 input and $10 output per million tokens |
| Cache reads | $0.20 per million tokens |
| Versus Sonnet 5 | Same price, output over 30% faster, up to 30% less per task |
| Model ID | claude-sonnet-5-5 |
| Context window | 1M tokens |
| Max output | 128K tokens (300K on the Batch API with a beta header) |
| Knowledge cutoff | June 2026 |
| Thinking | Adaptive; the default effort on the API is high |
| Retirement | Not sooner than September 28, 2027 |
| Platforms | Claude API, Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud, Microsoft Foundry, Claude Platform on AWS |
| Coming next | Claude Haiku 5.5, “in the coming weeks” |
What it is for
Anthropic positions Sonnet 5.5 as a faster, lower-cost complement to Opus 5.5. Opus 5.5 is for complex work that needs careful judgment, while Sonnet 5.5 is strongest at well-scoped everyday tasks, fixing bugs and creating polished documents, slides and spreadsheets. Testers highlighted its design sense and its writing, which Anthropic says is clearer than the previous generation’s, and in one internal test two experts judged its first draft of a 10-slide operating review, built from earnings materials and a slide template, ready to send as is.
It is also the first Sonnet to beat Pokémon Red working only from screenshots, which Anthropic uses to illustrate its long-horizon and image-understanding gains.
Benchmarks
Anthropic’s table compares Sonnet 5.5 with its predecessor, Opus 5.5 and OpenAI’s GPT-6 Sol. These are vendor-reported results.
| Test (Anthropic-reported) | Sonnet 5.5 | Sonnet 5 | Opus 5.5 | GPT-6 Sol |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Terminal-Bench 4.0 (agentic coding) | 70.6% | 10.3% | 66.4% | not reported |
| FrontierCode 1.1 Main (agentic coding) | 52.1% at Xhigh effort | 42.4% | 54.4% | 49.3% |
| CursorBench 4.0 (agentic coding) | 55.5% | 34.1% | 57.8% | not reported |
| GDPval-AA v2.1 (knowledge work, score) | 1844 | 1449 | 1846 | 1487 |
| OSWorld 2.1 (computer use, partial) | 80.1% | 57.0% | 81.8% | not reported |
| Humanity’s Last Exam (with tools) | 64.5% | 54.9% | 67.7% | not reported |
The pattern is that Sonnet 5.5 jumps well past Sonnet 5 and lands within a few points of Opus 5.5 on most tests. On Terminal-Bench 4.0 it scores higher than Opus 5.5’s best result, though Anthropic’s chart for that test uses GPT-5.6 Sol as the OpenAI comparison because OpenAI didn’t report GPT-6 Sol on it. Anthropic also notes that on FrontierCode Sonnet 5.5 scored lower at Max effort (46.2%) than at Xhigh, because it more often ran a code-review step that split work across many subagents and, in two cases examined, timed out or made edits beyond the task’s scope.
Anthropic adds a caution: benchmark scores capture only one facet, and in its own testing and external testers’ Opus 5.5 “remains clearly stronger at complex, open-ended work requiring sustained judgment”. It says Sonnet 5.5 complements Opus best at lower effort settings, where on several tests Low or Medium effort beats Sonnet 5’s best score for about a tenth of the cost per task.
What it costs
The price is unchanged from Sonnet 5, at $2 per million input tokens and $10 per million output tokens, with cache reads at $0.20 and 50% off in batch. The saving comes from tokens: Anthropic says Sonnet 5.5 typically needs far fewer tokens for the same work, so it costs up to 30% less per task, and it generates output more than 30% faster, making it the fastest Sonnet so far. Early-tester quotes in the announcement back this up, such as Slack reporting about 14% fewer output tokens on its Slackbot evaluations. Here is how the current lineup compares on price:
| Model | Input / output per million tokens | Speed rating in Anthropic’s docs |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Fable 5.1 | $10 / $50 | Slower |
| Claude Opus 5.5 | $4 / $20 | Moderate |
| Claude Sonnet 5.5 | $2 / $10 | Fast |
| Claude Haiku 4.5 | $1 / $5 | Fastest |
Our guide to Claude models explained covers the whole lineup and when to use each one.
Safety
Because Sonnet 5.5’s cybersecurity capabilities are comparable to Opus 5’s, it is the first Sonnet model to launch with cyber safeguards and fallbacks like those on Anthropic’s most capable models. Its biology safeguards are the same as Sonnet 5’s. Anthropic says both target a narrow set of high-risk requests and that routine software development and most life sciences work are unaffected. On its automated behavioural audit it improves on or matches Sonnet 5 on most measures of alignment. Sonnet 5.5, like Opus 5.5 and Sonnet 5, is available with zero data retention.
What developers need to change
Moving from Sonnet 5 isn’t a one-line change. Anthropic’s documentation lists five breaking changes:
- Turning off up-front thinking now uses a new
between_toolssetting. If you run Sonnet with thinking off, you need to switch to it. - Forced tool use returns an error.
- Thinking blocks are tied to the model and the conversation that produced them.
- On the Claude API and Google Cloud, the earlier
computer_20251124computer-use tool isn’t accepted. - The advisor tool rejects Claude Opus 4.8, Opus 4.7 and Sonnet 5 as advisors.
One more change alters the response shape without failing a request: text between tool calls comes back in thinking blocks, so an app that streams that text to users goes quiet between tool calls until it sets a display value or turns off up-front thinking. Setting temperature, top_p or top_k to a non-default value returns a 400 error. Read the migration guide before switching production traffic. If you code with Claude, see how to use Claude Code and the best AI coding assistants.
Using it in the Claude apps
Anthropic’s announcement says Medium effort is the default in the Claude apps. The pages we read don’t list Sonnet 5.5’s availability plan by plan in the apps, so check the model picker in your account. Anthropic’s Claude Code documentation lists claude-sonnet-5-5 as a supported model. For how the plans differ, see Claude Pro vs Max, and for the assistant overall, the Claude profile.
How it compares with OpenAI’s latest
OpenAI’s GPT-6.1 Sol, announced the day after Sonnet 5.5, is priced at the same $2 and $10 per million tokens. The vendors publish different benchmark sets, so neither launch post settles which is better for your work, and it is worth testing both on your own tasks.
Frequently asked questions
What is Claude Sonnet 5.5?
Claude Sonnet 5.5 is the second model in Anthropic's Claude 5.5 family, released on September 28, 2026 as a faster, lower-cost complement to Opus 5.5. Anthropic says it is strongest at well-scoped everyday tasks, fixing bugs and creating polished documents, slides and spreadsheets, with a sharp eye for design.
How much does Claude Sonnet 5.5 cost?
The API price is $2 per million input tokens and $10 per million output tokens, with cache reads at $0.20 per million. That is the same as Sonnet 5, but Anthropic says Sonnet 5.5 typically needs far fewer tokens, so it costs up to 30% less per task. Batch requests are 50% off.
Is Sonnet 5.5 better than Opus 5.5?
Not overall. Anthropic says Opus 5.5 remains clearly stronger at complex, open-ended work that needs sustained judgment. Sonnet 5.5 comes close on several tests, scoring two points below Opus 5.5 on GDPval-AA, and on some it matches Opus at maximum effort. Sonnet is faster and cheaper.
What is Claude Sonnet 5.5's model ID?
On the Claude API, Google Cloud, Microsoft Foundry and Claude Platform on AWS the ID is claude-sonnet-5-5. On Amazon Bedrock it is anthropic.claude-sonnet-5-5. Claude Code lists it among its supported models, selectable with the model command.
Do I have to change my code to move from Sonnet 5?
Possibly. Anthropic's docs list five breaking changes, including a new between_tools setting for turning off up-front thinking, an error when you force tool use, and thinking blocks that are tied to the model that produced them. Setting temperature, top_p or top_k to a non-default value returns a 400 error.
When is Claude Haiku 5.5 coming?
Anthropic says Claude Haiku 5.5, built for high-volume and cost-sensitive uses, will join the Claude 5.5 family in the coming weeks. It has given no date. Claude Haiku 4.5 is the current small model.
Sources
Product facts are checked against the vendor's own announcements and documentation.
- Introducing Claude Sonnet 5.5 — Anthropichttps://www.anthropic.com/claude-sonnet-5-5
- Claude Sonnet 5.5 model overview — Claude Platform Docshttps://platform.claude.com/docs/en/models/sonnet-5-5/overview
- Claude release notes — Claude Help Centerhttps://support.claude.com/en/articles/12138966-release-notes